Close Menu

Internal Funding Opportunities

Educational and Research Initiative Fund (ERIF)

DEADLINE: Winners announce for 2017!  Watch for a new announcement in 2018.
The objective of the ERIF program is to provide seed funding to initiate innovative multi-investigator, multidisciplinary research and education programs that will use the results obtained during the project period for developing proposals seeking external funding. Proposals on new research and education concepts that are multidisciplinary in scope are solicited.

2017 ERIF Grant Recipients

  • Lin Cai (ECE, PI) and Ivan Mutis (CAEE, Co-PI)
  • Carlos Teixeira (ID, PI) and Weslynne Ashton (Stuart, Co-PI)

WISER 2017 ISFG Program


WISER Issues Request for Proposals for 2017 ISFG Program

IIT’s Wanger Institute for Sustainable Energy Research (WISER) has issued a Request for Proposals for the 2017 Interdisciplinary Seed Funding Grants (ISFG) program.  Initiated in 2009, the ISFG program is designed to support and enhance new and innovative multidisciplinary research concepts that are expected to attract major external funding in areas of national interest related to energy and sustainability. The ISFG program provides IIT faculty with both the opportunity to conduct interdisciplinary research initiatives and to obtain proof of their innovative proposal concepts, which will enable them to develop more nationally competitive proposals. Proposals must be submitted electronically by close of business on Monday, March 20, 2017, to the Office of Sponsored Research and Programs in conformance with the 2017 WISER ISFG Program Proposal Submission Guidelines (provided as link below).

For further information, contact Peg Murphy (, ext. 76881), WISER assistant director and program outreach manager.

Starr/Fieldhouse Research Fellowship

DEADLINE: Winners announced for 2017!  Please watch for a new announcement for 2018.
Merit based research scholarships made possible through a generous donation from the Starr Foundation and IIT's capital campaign match to honor Mr. Irv Fieldhouse.
More information

2017 Starr-Fieldhouse Recipients

  • Xuan Fang (BIO)

Sigma Xi/IIT Awards for Excellence in University Research

Three or four awards will be granted in recognition of the recipients’ significant accomplishments in research, scholarship, or creative activity while teaching or studying at IIT. Full-time faculty members and full-time graduate students at IIT are eligible for consideration.

To be considered for a Sigma Xi award, the faculty member or graduate student must be nominated by an IIT faculty member.

Sigma Xi Home Page
Past winners