Close Menu

Research News

New Book on Small Town America Due Out

Daniel Bliss, assistant professor of political science, has written the new book Economic Development and Governance in Small Town America: Paths to Growth. Published by Routledge, the book explores the ways that small localities exercise choices.

Chemistry Ph.D. Candidate Honored with Scholarship for Battery Research

Elahe Moazzen if one of 10 students selected for the 2018 Ludo Frevel Crystallography Scholarship by the International Centre for Diffraction Data.

Paper Selected for Special AIEE Publication
Stuart School of Business adjunct faculty member and Ph.D. candidate Joseph Cursio co-authored the paper “The Electricity Market Price: Volatility, Pattern, and Forecast Analysis,” one of 10 selected for publication in Current and Future Challenges to Energy Security: The Second Associazione Italiana Economisti dell’Energia Energy Conference Proceedings.

Researchers Receive Seed Grant to Study Workplace Issues

Sonja Petrovic and Lulu Kang, associate professors of applied mathematics, and Mahima Saxena, assistant professor of psychology, have received a $40,000 seed grant from the Center for Interdisciplinary Scientific Computation for a collaborative project to better understand employee health and well-being in the workplace.

Researcher Honored with CAREER Award for Chromophore Energy Studies

Assistant Professor of Chemistry Jean-Luc Ayitou received a 2018 Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award of $650,000 from the National Science Foundation for his investigations into relatively unstable compounds that may be highly useful in photovoltaic devices or solar cells.

Ph.D. Candidate Wins Best Poster Award for Paper on Novel Photochemicals

Siamak Shokri (CHEM Ph.D. candidate) was recognized at the 27th Inter-American Photochemical Society Meeting with a Best Poster Award for his work on novel light-harvesting polycyclic molecular scaffolds. The photochemicals were synthesized in the laboratory of Jean-Luc Ayitou, a 2018 Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award winner.